LabWorks

2015-07-09 12.06.16Charlie Leadbeater speaking at Labworks

On Thursday I went with my entire Ideas Lab team from UKTI to the LabWorks event organised by Nesta. It was a jam-packed day and we all left feeling quite overwhelmed.

Many of the talks were enjoyable. It was great to hear stories from other labs about their successes and struggles. I felt that I tacitly knew much of what was being said, but it was incredibly useful to hear and see how certain concepts were being articulated.

Here are my notes from the day, complete with cartoony hairstyle drawings of speakers to help me remember who said what.

2015-07-09 12.12.41Bonus picture: the ‘typical lab’. I have to say, I have not worked in a government innovation lab which is this sidelined. I’d quite like to though – it would be like being back in the Goldsmiths design studio. The more sidelined a space is, the less of a spotlight there is, the less pressure to be neat and perfect… which means more chances to make mistakes without consequences.

Leave a comment

Filed under My current work, UKTI Ideas Lab

Leave a Reply

