Want to help me develop one of these personal data ideas?

So, I have submitted quite a few ideas for a personal data design challenge hosted by Sense Worldwide. Apparently I don’t own the ideas any more because I submitted them.* Most of these ideas would make the world a more interconnected place where we make more conscious decisions about our actions. Apart from the cat idea. That one’s a wildcard.

I won $1000 for the first idea and for having submitted so many ideas (almost one in every category), and I’m getting paid to be part of a hackathon to develop these ideas. I can’t believe it! I’m so excited! Bring it on!!

_______________________________________________________
My Purchases
MyPurchases
Consumer need
I have shared my birthday wish list on Facebook before, but two people ended up buying me the same book.

Solution
Digitally share my birthday wish list with a group of friends. They can then tag the gift if they are buying it so that nobody else buys it. They can also be directed to buy it online.

When almost all the gifts are tagged, items from similar wish lists are shown. This could be integrated with Amazon who have good data already on similar tastes in purchases.

Personal Finance category
_______________________________________________________
Auto Shopping List
AutoShoppingList

Consumer need
Keeping a balanced diet is hard. Most of us don’t really know what’s the healthiest way to eat. What constitutes a balanced meal? And there’s so many options out there so it’s hard to choose. I spend ages in the supermarket. How does eating healthier fit with my budget, and the food I like?

Solution
Select recipes from a database, and the ingredients automatically get moved to your online food shopping trolley. Set your budget, how many people you have to feed with this weekly shop, and dietary requirements. Weekly recipe plans are suggested to make it ultra-easy, but you can customise from hundreds of recipes and edit ingredients too. It remembers your favourite recipes. It suggests recipes to try with ingredients that are currently on offer.

Recipes are assessed by nutritionists, and the app nudges you to edit your recipe plan if necessary. Add in your own recipes to the community board; these are then assessed by nutritionists. Option to do this in-store or online: in-store means no delivery fees.

Health and Wellbeing category
_______________________________________________________
Community Board
CommunityBoard

Consumer need
High street cafes are soulless. I want to feel the character of the local area. I want to know if there are other women that are on their work lunch breaks that I could eat with. I want to connect to the community here. My friend wants to find a local running partner. People don’t know how to design posters to get attention to connect to community. There isn’t a place for community posters in chain cafes.

Solution
Create a digital community noticeboard where non-corporate adverts are shown on loop in chain cafes. Have a tablet in-store with an ultra simple, stylistically constrained graphics programme that allows people to advertise for the community connections they want to make: running club, book club, women’s networking lunch, adopt a grandma, teach Spanish for English lessons, etc.

This would encourage community connections, empower people to visualise their needs, and attract more people who want to meet those needs, as well as making chain cafes a more pleasant environment.

These adverts could also be shown in local doctors’ surgeries on their TVs.

Home Life category

_______________________________________________________
Inner Superhero
InnerSuperhero

Consumer need
So many people do not value what they are good at. Everyone is good at something. Celebrating what you are good at reminds you to use your strength; according to positive psychology, using your strengths makes you happier.

Solution
Connect with your strengths and celebrate them. What are you good at that you love doing? Snap your picture and get a SuperMe avatar. The avatar makes it fun and sees you through your happiness adventure. Get a daily tip from positive psychologists. Add happiness tips to the community board. Option for deeper strengths assessment. Superhero meet ups: workshops and talks about psychology, philosophy and taking action on social causes.

Health and Wellbeing category

_______________________________________________________
My Street
MyStreet

Consumer need
The lack of strong, friendly communities in London is negatively affecting our lives. People are happier when friends live nearby. One reason for people to not start relationships with their neighbours and form communities is fear. Fear can be broken down with knowledge. Find out a little bit of basic information about the people who live 3 homes away from you in either direction. The council has this data anyway – choose whether you want them to release it to people that live very near you. Knowing basic info creates a familiarity that can aid breaking down fear, and pave the way to beginning relationships with your neighbours.

Solution
Find out a little bit of basic information about the people who live 3 homes away from you in either direction. The council has this data anyway – choose whether you want them to release it to people that live very near you. Knowing basic info creates a familiarity that can aid breaking down fear, and pave the way to beginning relationships with your neighbours.

Personal Relationships category

_______________________________________________________
The Secret Life Of My Cat
SecretLifeOfMyCat

Consumer need
Where do cats go when they go on the prowl? I want to see the secret adventures of my cat.

Solution
Personal data can be for cats too. Cat collar has a camera, motion sensor, GPS sensor and USB. When the cat speeds up, the camera takes a picture, just at the right time to capture the juicy bits of the adventure. GPS maps the journey of the cat. When the cat comes back, get the USB to look at the map of the adventure with the photos of the exciting bits. Uses Google maps.

Cultural Life category
_______________________________________________________
Health Tracker
2014-06-19 11.33.47 copy

HealthTracker2

Consumer need
I get ill too often, and I don’t always go to a doctor who knows me or even has access to my health history. I want to be able to work out why I get ill – what triggers my tonsillitis/flu 6 times a year? What lifestyle factors affect my immune system? The apps out there are either for fitness, diet or happiness. I need something all- encompassing.

Solution
An app which records when I get ill, prompts me for input in a fun way, and searches my digital interactions with others for keywords relating to my health. It will crunch my health data and help me identify my flu triggers, so that I can avoid them in the future. Option to share info with any doctor I choose.

Health and Wellbeing category

_______________________________________________________
Birthday Wish List
Consumer need
I have shared my birthday wish list on Facebook before, but two people ended up buying me the same book.

Solution
Digitally share my birthday wish list with a group of friends. They can then tag the gift if they are buying it so that nobody else buys it. They can also be directed to buy it online.

When almost all the gifts are tagged, items from similar wish lists are shown. This could be integrated with Amazon who have good data already on similar tastes in purchases.

Shopping category

_______________________________________________________

If you want to help me develop a variation on any of these ideas that don’t get developed with Sense Worldwide, please let me know. We could turn that $1000 into $100,000…

*I don’t care too much about ownership – what I want is to make the world a better place, and get adequately rewarded to do that with money, recognition and opportunity. I can always come up with more ideas.

Leave a comment

Filed under My current work, Well-being project

Leave a Reply

