Making Happiness a Design Issue

I’ve just discovered that you can upload links to publications on LinkedIn! So here’s one I made earlier.

Making Happiness A Design Issue

I wrote this as my dissertation for my BA at Goldsmiths. I still very much stand by the sentiments I had at the time of writing it. After a period of deep questioning the point of design – the point of any creation, any intervention, any change – I decided that it is worth acting to make the world a better place for the people around you. For me, the world would be better if we were all happier.

This publication details psychologists’ findings about how, why and when people are happier, and it seeks to offer opportunities for designers to make changes that will support other people in their personal quests for joy and well-being.

Published January 2012. Check out the bookbinding process here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Well-being project

Leave a Reply

