Happiness at Work Survey

Screen Shot 2013-09-04 at 13.50.34

The good news: I am now available to work on new paid projects! I also have more time for those stacked-up fun free projects.
The bad news: I don’t like not having regular income, and I feel that my time would be spent more valuably working in an organisation that has positive social impact rather than spending my time filling in job applications. I know it’s a necessary penance… but it sucks.

Screen Shot 2013-09-04 at 13.50.21

I dread jobseeking yet here I am. And look how happy the new economics foundation‘s and Action for HappinessHappiness at Work Survey says I am! It surprised me. Maybe I am doing ok after all. I filled out the questions keeping in mind that I work for myself, filling out job application forms and working on various freelance projects.

Screen Shot 2013-09-04 at 13.52.03

The survey provides guidance on how to make an action plan, and gives a full break down in different ways of your results. To me it was helpful because it made me realise things aren’t as bad as I thought. I get to plan my own time so I spend plenty of time with family and friends. I manage myself well, and I like my studio and get one with people around me. The career path I’m on is a meaningful, purposeful one. I’ve got more scores of 10/10 than under 3/10. Not bad.

Screen Shot 2013-09-04 at 13.51.15

To be honest, I am not totally sold on the dynamic model. Maybe it’s familiar workplace language to some people, but it’s not really working for me. I would like to see more illustrations/annotations on that diagram. I reckon I could take it on as a project…

Overall I would recommend nef‘s Happiness at Work Survey. It might throw up something unexpected for you, too. Let me know what you think, if you take it.

You don’t have to publish your results as I have, and please let’s not destructively compare happiness levels. This is a snapshot of how I feel in the status quo, and other people might feel better or worse in the same situation for a multitude of factors. Happiness is NOT a competition. Please see #sharefailure.

I want to take the survey again when I am next employed. Let’s see what the impact of employment has on my wellbeing.

Screen Shot 2013-09-04 at 13.51.35

1 Comment

Filed under Ideas

One response to “Happiness at Work Survey

  1. Thanks for this post: I’ve already found it useful!

Leave a Reply

