Neil Gaiman ‘Make Good Art’


If you’re looking for inspiration, watch this speech by Neil Gaiman for 2012 graduates. It’s about working as an artist (of any kind). It’s hopeful, and makes you feel like it’s ok to break rules.

A freelance life, a life in the arts, is sometimes like putting messages in bottles, on a desert island, and hoping that someone will find one of your bottles and open it and read it, and put something in a bottle that will wash its way back to you: appreciation, or a commission, or money, or love. And you have to accept that you may put out a hundred things for every bottle that winds up coming back.

…I decided that I would do my best in future not to write books just for the money. If you didn’t get the money, then you didn’t have anything. If I did work I was proud of, and I didn’t get the money, at least I’d have the work.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Design Inspiration, Ideas

Leave a Reply

