Service Design


Video sourced from RCA website.

I used to think I knew what service design meant… I kind of still did but recently it’s been a bit clouded to me. When you try to explain it to people who have no idea what you mean, it’s easy to start to lose conviction. I’d find it easier if I was around lots of service designers. Thankfully some of my friends’ projects at Goldsmiths seem to be heading in that direction, so it will be easier for me to work out what it means and find my own ways of doing it, that still count as design and not business planning or something.

This prospectus video by the RCA explains it quite well. I’d love to do that course, though not yet. I need some time to act in the real world, not just under academic rules. What works in the academic world surely won’t be the same as the real world.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ideas

Leave a Reply

